You Are … and I Am

While hiking along the base of this amazing rock formation in Sedona yesterday, my prayer time shifted in this direction.  I hope it adds to your worship on this Good Friday. There are plenty that I’ve missed – please feel free to add your favorites in the Comments section.

IMG_1549

You are the Rock. I build my house on you. Help me to build well.

You are the Artist. I am your masterpiece. Help me to hold still while you paint.

You are the Word. I am the listener. Help me to understand.

You are the Lamb of God.  My sin is covered by your blood. Help me to sin less.

You are the Bridegroom.  I am a small part of your bride. Help me to love you faithfully.

You are the Way.  I am a pilgrim. Help me to stay on the path.

You are the Savior. I am the saved. Help me to point lost people to you.

You are Almighty God. I am a worshipper.  Help me to worship in spirit and in truth.

You are the Good Shepherd. I am a wandering sheep. Thank you for finding me.

You are the King. I am a citizen of your kingdom. May your kingdom come through me.

You are the High Priest. I am the one for whom you intercede. That amazes me.

You are the Master. I am your slave.  It is my joy to serve you.

You are the Potter. I am the clay. Shape me as you wish.

You are the Bread of Life. You satisfy my hunger. Help me to hunger for you.

You are the vine.  I am a branch. Help me to bear fruit.

You are the Crucified One. I have been crucified with you. Help me to die daily.

You are the Resurrected One. Thanks to you, I will live forever. May I never take that for granted.

If you would like to subscribe and receive future Sabbath Thoughts posts as an e-mail, please click on “Follow” in the lower right corner of your browser window.

 

 

 

 

 

About Sabbath Thoughts

My name is Mike Gaston. I serve on the Member Care team for Converge International Ministries, am a happy husband, a spoiled father of two daughters, a proud grandfather, and a pursuer of the benefits of intentional, regular, contemplative, Christ-centered rest. This blog will allow me to share thoughts about Sabbath, as well as thoughts about God and the Christian life that come out of my restful Sabbath moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Are … and I Am

  1. Sharon says:

    You are the Water of Life, a well of water springing up to eternal life. Help me to live this truth with joy today, and with eager anticipation regarding my future with you.

  2. Greg says:

    You are the Light of the world. I was once darkness but now I am light in the Lord. Help me to walk as a child of light.

  3. Ryc and Laurie Norman says:

    You are the Strong Tower, a place of refuge, where I am able to find comfort, peace and rest in the midst of the storms of life. Where I can be lifted above and see Your hand in and on my life.

Leave a comment