God’s Plan is Right on Track

I needed that international trip more than I realized. It was refreshing in ways that I didn’t expect. And it reminded me that the global church of Jesus Christ is thriving, that God’s plan to bring good news to the nations is moving ahead right on schedule.

It began in Kenya, where my partner Dan had invited me to help train Maasai pastors to better understand and preach the Bible. It continued in Jordan, where we visited two families involved in ministry to refugees. And it ended in the Czech Republic, with a visit to a young family bringing the gospel to teenagers in that former Communist country.

Several experiences during those two weeks reassured me that God’s program is right on track:

  • The Maasai pastors in Kenya have a deep thirst for God’s Word, and are eager to teach it and preach it in the way it was written. They faithfully attend three of these 4-day conferences every year, at great expense in time and energy, and pass on what they learned to other pastors in their area. It was an honor to work with them.
  • In Jordan we enjoyed a worship service in Arabic, praising God in a language that is often used for tragically different purposes. We witnessed compassion for the neediest of all, seeing the love of Christ shown in practical and tangible ways to people who fled their homes with only the clothes on their backs. We sat among people who had lost everything, but found Christ, and would gladly do it all over again because the result is far more valuable than the cost. It was humbling to be with them.
  • In Prague, my guide from the airport to the train station was a young Czech man who had met Christ several years ago through a camp ministry that included people from my former church, and which is also a focus of my current church. He was an atheist when he attended the camp for the first time, but he said to me with a smile, “I am a Christ-follower because of that camp. I’m nobody famous, but I am a Christian, and it’s important for you to know how it happened.” It was exciting to spend time with him.

IMG_1466The two weeks went quickly, and I don’t think I really celebrated what I had seen until this last Monday, when I squeezed in a much-needed Sabbath hike (alongside this beautiful lake) and took time to reflect on the trip. The second song to come out of my play list was “Let the Worshippers Arise,” by Phillips, Craig and Dean (listen to it here). I ran it back three times because the words of the second verse were so perfect, and I sang it louder each time:

“Father I hear it growing louder, the song of your redeemed,
As the saints of every nation are awakening to sing.
From our hearts there comes an anthem. Oh, hear the heavens ring!
This is our song, a song to our King!”

On this trip, I heard that song growing louder. I sat with the saints of several nations, and from our hearts came an anthem. We sang it in different languages, but with the same joy. It was a song to our King.

I can’t wait to do it all again!

If you would like to subscribe and receive future Sabbath Thoughts posts as an e-mail, please click on “Follow” in the lower right corner of your browser window.

About Sabbath Thoughts

My name is Mike Gaston. I am a former missionary, a Shepherding Pastor at Heights Church in Prescott, AZ, a happy husband, a spoiled father of two daughters, a proud grandfather, and a recently-convinced pursuer of the benefits of intentional, regular, contemplative, Christ-centered rest. This blog will allow me to share thoughts about Sabbath, as well as thoughts about God and the Christian life that come out of my restful Sabbath moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God’s Plan is Right on Track

  1. steve kilker says:

    Mike, so good to hear how God is using you to encourage and strengthen others. Sounds like you are having TOO MUCH FUN!!

  2. Kermit Hunt says:

    We need to hook up & hear your experiences!

    Kermit

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Don says:

    I am so happy to read your blog. You were a great positive influence to me when I was in high school. Thirty years ago. I attended First Baptist Church of Reseda. I was in the high school group when you became the high school leader. We were one of three black families at the church during that time (Us the Browns, the Myers (Ivan & Lisa), The Millers (Mike & Bobby). You and Murph always made us feel welcome. I recall you were an advid basketball fan and pretty impressive player 🙂 Obviously you made a lasting impression. Thank you.

    Don

Leave a Reply

