You will – you really will – find rest for your souls

Blogging experts (let’s call them Blogsperts) tell us that shorter blogs are more likely to be read, and that it’s wise to limit yourself when possible to 500 – 700 words.  Some topics can be adequately covered in that space.

IMG_2211Others can’t.  I’ve found that God’s promise of rest is one that usually needs more space.  And since that is the main focus of this blog, I’m always looking for ways to communicate that important concept in space that doesn’t require lots of scrolling.

I think I’ve found a solution that will satisfy the Blogsperts and still allow me to do justice to this life-changing idea.  Last weekend, I had the chance to preach on My Favorite Verse, which has become Matthew 11:28-30, Christ’s promise that in Him we will find rest for our souls.  I’m pasting a link below, which due to privacy settings will require you to click on the blue “Watch on Vimeo” button to watch a video of the 35-minute sermon.

There will be more than 700 words in the sermon, so I’m beating the system.  I find that strangely satisfying.  And I’m hoping that many of you will carve out the time needed to sit down and consider this oft-ignored offer of Jesus Christ.  It has changed my life in these last two years, and I’m sure it will change many others when we take it seriously.

I’m praying for you as I type, and am eager to hear how God uses this passage in your life.  And I’ve done all this in less than 300 words.  🙂

 If you would like to receive future Sabbath Thoughts posts as an e-mail, please click on “Follow” in the lower right corner of your browser window.

About Sabbath Thoughts

My name is Mike Gaston. I am a former missionary, a Shepherding Pastor at Heights Church in Prescott, AZ, a happy husband, a spoiled father of two daughters, a proud grandfather, and a recently-convinced pursuer of the benefits of intentional, regular, contemplative, Christ-centered rest. This blog will allow me to share thoughts about Sabbath, as well as thoughts about God and the Christian life that come out of my restful Sabbath moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

