He Has Made Me Glad

I’m not sure how I got there.  Sometimes my Sabbath hike prayer time flows from one stage to another in orderly sequence.  Other times, it gets pretty random.  As I walked through Sullivan Canyon in the Santa Monica Mountains yesterday (enjoy the pics – I enjoyed taking them!), I had one of those random moments.

IMG_1200I decided to tell God what it was about Him that made me glad.  I began listing the reasons, completing this phrase: “Lord, I am glad that _______.”  A mile later, I wasn’t done.  Half a mile or so after that, I finally moved on to something else.  But I knew that I was far from exhausting the list.

Some of the reasons for my gladness were predictable.  “I’m glad for my wife, my kids, my grandson, my church.”  “I’m glad that you’ve forgiven me for the stupid stuff I did this week.”  “I’m glad that you love me at my most unlovable.”

IMG_1171Some were inspired by the immediate context.  “I’m glad you made such a wide variety of colors.”  “I’m glad you thought of flowers.”  “I’m glad for a cool breeze on a warm day.”

Some were driven by Scripture and theology.  “I’m glad for the tough times you send my way.” “I’m glad that You are all-powerful, faithful, unchangeable.”

Some were quirky.  “I’m glad for opposable thumbs” (yeah, I really prayed that – a first for me, as far as I can recall).  “I’m glad for the silence between the notes in a song.”  “I’m glad for my senses.”

One was directly related to the way I pursue Sabbath rest.  “Lord, I’m glad that you have invited me to walk with you, that You accept to walk with me, and that I will never walk alone.”

IMG_1194Something powerful happened.  The more I told Him what it was that made me glad, the gladder I became.  I experienced the unexpressed benefits that come to us when we obey a command written to a church in Philippi 2000 years ago: “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things” (Phil. 4:8)  For thirty minutes or so, I consciously thought about those things.  And it was wonderful.

Can I challenge you to give it a try?  Find a quiet place, turn off the outside world for a few minutes, and just start telling God what He has done to make you glad.  You may wind up needing more time than you expected when you started.  But however long it takes, I’m confident it will be worth your while.

I learned today that some form of the word “glad” appears almost 50 times in the Psalms.  In one of the them, King David writes this: “May all who seek You rejoice and be glad in You.  May those who love Your salvation say evermore, ‘God is great!’”” (Psalm 126:3)

I love the salvation that I have received and don’t deserve, so I say without hesitation, “God is great!”  And it makes me smile to know that those who seek Him can also be glad in Him.

About Sabbath Thoughts

My name is Mike Gaston. I am a former missionary, a Shepherding Pastor at Heights Church in Prescott, AZ, a happy husband, a spoiled father of two daughters, a proud grandfather, and a recently-convinced pursuer of the benefits of intentional, regular, contemplative, Christ-centered rest. This blog will allow me to share thoughts about Sabbath, as well as thoughts about God and the Christian life that come out of my restful Sabbath moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to He Has Made Me Glad

  1. Steve Rowe says:

    Thanks, Mike…you’ve inspired me to do that this week!

  2. debra petrella says:

    I needed this, and as always you spoke to my heart, thank you

  3. Jacquese S. says:

    You’ve inspired me to take my own “walks” with the lord. 🙂 I’ve done it twice and I’m looking froward to doing it again this Sunday 🙂 Grace to you!

  4. Bill McNeil says:

    He Has Made Me Glad (I Will Enter His Gates)
    Gwen R. Shaw
    I will enter His gates with thanksgiving in my heart,
    I will enter his courts with praise!
    I will say this is the day that the Lord has made,
    I will rejoice for he has made me glad.

    He has made me glad!
    He has made me glad!
    I will rejoice for he has made me glad.

    He has made me glad,
    He has made me glad,
    I will rejoice for he had made me glad.
    Submitted By Kelly
    Copyright © 1987, End Time Handmaidens, Inc.

Leave a Reply

