Delight is a Two-Way Street

Delight is a two-way street.  We delight in God – that one makes sense.  But He delights in us!  That one blows our mind.  Let it.  Don’t stop thinking about it just because it sets off your mental circuit breaker.

Let’s start with us – that’s easier.  There is so much about God that brings us delight.  I tried to start a list several times as I wrote this paragraph, but I was afraid of leaving something out.  Besides, doesn’t a list of truth about Him sometimes feel like reading the ingredients of your favorite dish?  I’m glad to know the ingredients of jambalaya, but it isn’t the list that makes my mouth water.  It’s what happens when they are all together in a full, steaming bowl on my table, the sausage interacting with the peppers and spices, THAT’s what makes my mouth water!  The sum total of all that is true about God, the way His holiness interacts with His accessibility, delights my soul in ways that nothing else can.

In the last 6 months, I’ve begun to experience what God talks about in Isaiah 58:13-14.  After commanding His people to not only honor the Sabbath, but to call it a delight, He says “Then you will take delight in the Lord, and I will make you ride on the heights of the earth.”  Far from being just another obligation, my Sabbath moments with God have become a delightful…no that’s not strong enough… they are THE delightful highlight of my week.  I can’t wait for the next one to come!  And I think I’m actually starting to understand what it means to “ride on the heights of the earth.”  I don’t have it nailed, but I’m catching glimpses.  Yeah, it’s exhilarating.

But Scripture doesn’t let us stop there.  Isaiah 62:5 says that God would rejoice over restored Israel the way a bridegroom rejoices over His bride.  Psalm 149:4 says that God takes pleasure…PLEASURE… in His people.

Let that sink in.  God. Delights. In His people.  Wow.

No, don’t turn away.  Think about it.  Be convinced. Yeah, He delights in you.  If you are His child by faith in Christ, you can give Him joy.

One of the unexpected surprises of my Sabbath-keeping is my growing sense that I am not the only one looking forward to these extended times with God.  I shake my head to type it, because it blows my mind, but I am increasingly sure that He looks forward to them too!  As a Dad, I get it…I love being with my kids, he loves being with His, OK, sure.  But it still makes my knees tremble a little to think that the God of the universe would eagerly anticipate me… ME!… going for a walk with Him.  And it makes me look forward to it all the more.

If your delight in Him, and your sense of His delight in you, is a little weak, Isaiah 58 tells us that Sabbath is a good place to start.  It was for me.  Let me know if I can help.

About Sabbath Thoughts

My name is Mike Gaston. I am a former missionary, a Shepherding Pastor at Heights Church in Prescott, AZ, a happy husband, a spoiled father of two daughters, a proud grandfather, and a recently-convinced pursuer of the benefits of intentional, regular, contemplative, Christ-centered rest. This blog will allow me to share thoughts about Sabbath, as well as thoughts about God and the Christian life that come out of my restful Sabbath moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Delight is a Two-Way Street

    • You’re welcome, Karen. I always think of you when WordPress tells me a post was read in the UK. Hugs from Murf.

      • prayerstair says:

        I don’t know if you still read books about youth work but I am loving Kenda Creasy Dean’s Almost Christian and think you might find her chapter on the benefits of short term mission for young people as inspiring as I did. (The chapter is called ‘Hanging Loose’.)

      • Thanks. We have a great Student Missions program, and I may soon be getting more hands-on with it, so that would be good to see.

Leave a Reply

